It is finally possible for Content Manager to share at folder level within a Shared Drive!
What are Shared Drives again?
Shared drives are special folders in Google Drive that you can use to store, search, and access files with a team. Shared drive files belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay in the shared drive so your team can keep sharing information and work anywhere, from any device.
What has changed?
Until now, folder-level sharing was only possible for a Shared Drive Administrator. The new update ensures that this functionality is immediately active for Content Managers for all new Shared Drives.
For Shared Drives that already existed, only the Admin can share the folders. But this too can be adjusted by the Administrator on the Shared Drive to enable sharing at the folder level.
Since the new update is active immediately, this can be turned off by the Administrator if this functionality is not desired within the organization for Content Managers.
The new feature is visible in the Shared Drive settings.
Currently, there is a split in the Shared Drive settings:
- Role Permissions
Within the access section, there are two options:
- Possibility to give persons outside the organization access to files (external)
- Possibility to give persons who are not members of the Shared Drive access to one or more files
Within the section role permissions, there are two options:
- Possibility to give not only Administrators but also Content Managers the right to share folders on a Shared Drive (instead of adding a person to the entire Drive or only being able to share single files)
- Ability to allow individuals with View and/or Comment rights to download, print and/or copy files
The split in the settings gives a clear picture of the possibilities.
Using Shared Drives has many advantages. You do need to know exactly how it works and how you can get the most out of it. We are happy to help you with this!